Welcome to our newly revamped web site! We hope you will find that it is easier to navigate, has more information, is updated more frequently, and is, well, just plain better than our previous web site.
Our major announcement at this time is that we are temporarily closing the Museum to visitors on November 1. But that’s a good thing! The reason we are closing is because we have received a number of major gifts in the past 12 months – enough for us to restore four rooms in Rest Cottage, the original portion of Willard House built in 1865. Isn’t that going to be a swell birthday gift for someone turning 150 years old at the end of this year?
In addition to restoring the four rooms, we will also be revising what is on display throughout Willard House so that our visitors can have a richer, more cohesive experience when our docents interpret the history of Willard and her family, the WCTU, and the house itself. And speaking of docents, when we re-open in the Spring, we will begin having tours each Sunday rather than the current 1st and 3rd Sundays.
Be sure to come back to our web site to get updates that will be posted on our home page and on our blog page.
November 15 at 4pm FWHA Annual Meeting.
Featured Collections Object
Discovered in our archival collection by a researcher on Halloween, this letter was written to Frances Willard and Lady Henry by Lizzie Borden on her personal stationery. It is one sheet of paper, folded like a card with Borden’s monogram on the top of the first page. The letter is difficult to read and we have no way of knowing what kind of correspondence Willard and Borden had prior to this letter. This is, however, an excellent example of the expanse of of our archival collection and the many connections that can be made to Willard in the late nineteenth century.